Since 1987 - Covering the Fastest Computers in the World and the People Who Run Them

January 8, 2014

ORNL Researchers and UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair Elected Fellows of APS

OAK RIDGE, Tenn., Jan. 8 — Two researchers from the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory and a University of Tennessee-ORNL Governor’s Chair professor have been elected fellows of the American Physical Society (APS).

The ORNL researchers are Viatcheslav V. Danilov of the Research Accelerator Division and Michael Scott Smith of the Physics Division. Steven J. Zinkle, formerly of ORNL and now a UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair, was recognized for his work during a 28-year career at the national laboratory.

Danilov was recognized by his APS peers “for fundamental and creative solutions to a wide range of accelerator physics issues, including laser stripping ring injection, integrable beam dynamics, space charge and instabilities.”

Danilov’s accomplishments as a research accelerator physicist have mainly benefited the Spallation Neutron Source, the world’s most powerful pulsed neutron scattering facility, located at ORNL. He previously received the Sacherer’s Prize for achievements in accelerator physics.

Danilov is a resident of Oak Ridge.

Smith was cited for “outstanding achievements in experimental nuclear astrophysics, including the first demonstration of the inverse-kinematic technique of measuring capture reactions on exotic beams with direct recoil detection, for advancing this technology and for tireless efforts to convey the significance of such measurements to the general public.”

Smith established the astrophysics program at ORNL’s Holifield Radioactive Ion Beam Facility, the first facility devoted fully to radioactive ion beam physics. He leads the Experimental Astrophysics group, which conducts experimental and computational research on the nuclear reactions behind stellar explosions that create the elements necessary for life.

Smith is a resident of Farragut.

Zinkle was honored “for significant contributions to the fundamental understanding of radiation effects in metallic and ceramic materials.”

Zinkle, an authority on the effects of radiation on materials in fission and fusion reactors, was named UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair for Nuclear Materials in 2013 following an ORNL career that began in 1985. His numerous awards include DOE’s E.O. Lawrence Award. He is a fellow of six other professional societies and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Zinkle is a resident of Knoxville.


Source: Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Share This